5 comments on “Readers Say Canada Needs Better Anti-Bully Laws – Breaking News, New Brunswick, Canada via timestranscript.com

  1. Bullying Who is to blame?
    Nov 8, 2010
    http://dailygleaner.canadaeast.com/search/article/1297854
    Re: Anti-bullying
    Many questions were asked in a recent letter to the editor about workplace bullying.
    Bullying causes psychological injury and this fact has long been recognized by social workers, psychologists, family physicians and psychiatrists. Those in the medical profession have attempted to protect battered employees for some time, but our medical experts and others have fallen upon deaf ears from the Workers’ Compensation Board and they have been ignored by government.
    Why? All employers have a responsibility to protect the mental and physical health of their employees. In Canada, politicians federally and in four other provinces are making amendments to existing laws to protect employees from workplace bullies. These necessary changes are supported by case law which holds employers accountable for psychological injury.
    With four provinces now recognizing psychological injury due to toxic work environments, workers are better protected in those provinces, but so is management.
    Workers who have a mental illness or who develop mental illnesses due to psychological injury are more apt to be bullied than those who do not (Canadian Mental Health Association Ontario) and less than three per cent of those with a mental illness ever become violent (Dr. Heather Stuart, World Psychiatric Association).
    Most often the victim to bullying is passive, and the bully is aggressive. People in the workplace suffering from mental illness caused by bullies in the workplace need more protection.
    “Who is to blame?” the letter asks. “Not the bully’s victim,” I respond.
    Brenda Steeves
    Moncton

  2. Not long ago I worked in a very emotionally toxic workplace. The bully started by giving me incorrect information when she was “helping” train me. Then she would notify the boss I was doing things wrong. She would mess up my files and hide things I had organized. She did everything she could to make my days at work miserable and it was like a game to her. Unfortunately she had support from one other staff and the second in command, they all were minorities who banded together and they nearly brought me down. My complaints were laughed at and I was told I was the one in the wrong, I was being too sensitive, and this was not good for our ‘team’.They were very sneaky and were careful about when they misbehaved.

    It was emotional abuse that carried on for over two years. After I left the job, one of my replacements was very strong willed. She started to be rude and tough with the bully and the bully couldn’t handle. I heard the bully quit because of my even stronger replacement. What goes around comes around I guess, but this still didn’t prevent me from dealing with the BS I endured for years.

    Looking back I maybe should have pushed harder to have the situation resolved, but since one of the bosses was involved it was more difficult. It was my income and I did not want to loose my job, there were many good things about it, like the pay. Bullies need to be put in their place and stop acting like children in the workplace.

  3. I quit my job of 14 years because of workplace bullying. It should not have been me who left, but those who were often looked upon as “gang members”. Shame on Management who turn a blind eye to the bullying of workers by co-workers. To think of the number of times that employees complained, Management responded as though even they were afraid of these unpredictable employees. My life has never been the same since resigning from that job seven years ago.

  4. I quit my government job of 14 years because of workplace bullying. It should not have been me who left, but those who were often looked upon as “gang members”. Shame on Management who turn a blind eye to the bullying of workers by co-workers. To think of the number of times that employees complained, Management responded as though even they were afraid of these unpredictable employees. My life has never been the same since resigning from that job seven years ago.

Leave a Reply

